top of page
Writer's pictureApril Del Monte

Women Who Thrive In Real Estate | Sophie Bokelmann

Updated: Feb 4, 2022


An Interview With Sophie Bokelmann

Hi Sophie! Tell us your Real Estate story!


Why did you decide to become a Realtor? What made you want to get into the real estate industry?

I have always been a social butterfly and worked in sales and the service industry my entire life. When I pursued a career in digital marketing, i always felt like something was missing. A friend of mine at the time was a real estate agent and I was so intrigued by the business. I remember he used to take me on showing appointments and I envied his lifestyle. When the pandemic hit, I took this as an opportunity to get my real estate license and finally pursue the career I wanted. Real Estate has no ceiling, it has no ceiling in accomplishments, no ceiling in income and no ceiling in education. Every single day I wake up and I am excited to take my business to the next level, service my clients even better and learn something new.


What has been the biggest challenge for you within your career and how have you overcome it?

Staying motivated. Real Estate is definitely a hard business to get into as it is highly competitive and it is very easy to compare yourself to others. When you start in real estate you are not only hustling for business but also trying to learn the ins and outs of the business. There is so much to know and school teaches you maybe 1% of it. I was privileged enough to find an incredible mentor who has been a constant support to me. Not only has she taught me a lot about the business, but she also taught me a lot about mental toughness.


As a woman in this industry, what heightened skills do you believe you have to offer your clients?

I believe that I go above and beyond for my clients. Purchasing or selling a home usually comes with a big milestone in someone’s life. It can be incredibly emotional and working with someone you trust is crucial. Transparency and Communication are the most important things between me and my clients. If my client lose, I lose, if they win, I win and I think that every one of my client has truly felt that I am in this with them.



What would you say is your #1 tip for others to start thriving as a Real Estate Agent?

Being a real estate agent is not a job, you are running a business. You are the CEO and you need to treat it that way. If you want to be good at what you do, learn your craft, perfect your skillsets, provide the best service possible and manage your business as a CEO.

What’s one thing you wish you could go back and tell yourself on day one as a licensed Realtor?

Be okay with failure. It is a difficult industry and you may fail more than once before you win, however that win, that feeling of helping your clients find a home is priceless. In the end, you are running your own business, you’re an entrepreneur and that is hard. Everything is glamorized on social media, however, it is important to know that failing is okay and that it makes you better, more knowledgeable and stronger. Keep going because you are a disservice to your clients if you don’t.


Thank you so much for sharing your inspiring story with us Sophie!


 

Hear Sophie's thoughts on the book How to Thrive as a Real Estate Agent!




Sophie's 3 most valuable takeaways from the book How to Thrive as a Real Estate Agent!

#1 Know your value and your worth. Your net worth comes from your self-worth.

#2 The secret to long-term success is in the way you care for your clients. #3 Stay authentic to who you are. Your vibe will attract your tribe.. or better said your clients!





90 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page