top of page
Writer's pictureApril Del Monte

Women Who Thrive In Real Estate | Taylor Durisin


An Interview With Taylor Durisin

Hi Taylor! Tell us your Real Estate story!


Why did you decide to become a Realtor? What made you want to get into the real estate industry?

I decided to become a Realtor about 4 years ago, I was stuck working in a dead end job in the Retail industry surrounded by the same colleagues, same customers and same 4 walls everyday for almost TEN Years.. How did I get here? I thought that every single day… How the HECK did I… Get stuck here? All of a sudden I thought – This is not it, I am too young to be stuck doing the same thing every single day that I do not enjoy. I had thought about Real Estate as a career for awhile but never looked into it. Once I signed up for my first course I was hooked and finished the program while working full time in 8 months. I wanted to find a career that was as fulfilling as it is challenging and Real Estate is exactly that!


What is it you enjoy most about being a Realtor? The thing I enjoy most about being a Realtor is the ability to change my Clients lives. That is huge for me. It is not about selling the biggest homes or earning the highest commissions- To me Real Estate is about the building lasting relationships with the people who’s lives I impact everyday. The first time buyers who never thought they could own a home, the Sellers who couldn’t sell with 3 other Agents and have lost faith in the process, the not-so-ready- to buy Tenants that need help finding Rental properties when other Agents shut them down. I am here for it all and that’s what makes my career so interesting and rewarding.


Do you believe there are any advantages to being a women in the real estate industry? I believe that women in Real Estate are strong, smart, loving and kind and with that comes a lot of compassion and emotion. I do believe that women like myself work well under pressure and rarely crack- this is an extremely high pressure career which has allowed me to flourish. I am focused on being the calm in every storm in this business, and being a woman allows me to nurture and settle my Clients when need be.


What has been the biggest challenge for you within your career and how have you overcome it? A big challenge for me was not knowing where to start- I had no idea what to expect in this business (because what they teach you in school doesn’t prepare you for the Real Estate world!) I started with NO one besides close family and friends in my small 50 person data base. During the early stages of my career I went through a challenging time when friends and family would Buy and Sell with other Agents. This was exactly what I needed in the beginning of my career and it taught me to be strong, resilient and build a successful business from the ground up. My Mentor Jennifer said often to me: “In this business you need to have thick skin, and on top of your thick skin you need scales and on top of your scales you need hair”. I will never forget that- It is one of the smallest but most impactful sentences I needed to hear in the first couple months of my career.

As a woman in this industry, what heightened skills do you believe you have to offer your clients? As a woman in Real Estate I believe there is no limit to what my Clients and I can accomplish by working together. My kind, caring demeanour allows me to treat my Clients like family vs business partners and this in turn creates life long relationships. As a woman in business, I have adapted qualities that prove I am nurturing, strong willed and dedicated 100% of the time. I can adapt to many different personalities to achieve the best results for every Client.

What would you say is your #1 tip for others to start thriving as a Real Estate Agent? NETWORK! Connect with as many like-minded businesses owners as you! #1- Find a Mortgage Broker to partner with that you share leads with back and forth.

What has contributed to your success in this business so far? 74% Of my business last year came from referrals, I focus a lot of my time taking care of the people that are in my database, while constantly networking and meeting new people. My friends, family, collogues and business partners play a huge role in my success as an Agent by continued support and referrals. I acknowledge their birthdays, holidays, host Client Appreciation events, and more. This year I started a “Femme Social” Group and host a bi-weekly networking collaborating session with 15 other female business owners. We talk about our wins and losses and tips and tricks to help each other thrive in business.


What’s one thing you wish you could go back and tell yourself on day one as a licensed Realtor? Rome was not built in a day. Building a business is different than selling a house. Build from the ground up and you will never have trouble finding a house to sell!

What advice would you give to empower other women within their real estate careers or/ to women who are thinking about starting a career in real estate? Instead of working so hard to become the number one Realtor, focus on how to become the number one RESOURCE for your Clients. Be the Agent who can answer all of their questions, point them in the right direction & listen and provide sound advice. Care for every Client as if it was your own Real Estate transaction on the table.

How would you describe life as a Realtor in one word or just one sentence? “It is never a dull moment!”


Thank you so much for sharing your inspiring story with us Taylor!


 

Hear Taylor's thoughts on the book How to Thrive as a Real Estate Agent



Taylor's 3 most valuable takeaways from the book

How to Thrive as a Real Estate Agent!


#1 Knowing and sticking to my “Worth”

#2 Staying VISIBLE and reachable on social media- Consistency

#3 Create growth opportunities by doing things other Agents wont!






59 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page